pasterthereal.blogg.se

What year did the onkyo cd player dx- 704 come out
What year did the onkyo cd player dx- 704 come out













what year did the onkyo cd player dx- 704 come out

One of these days I'll have to get some CD-Rs (I don't think I even have any anymore) and burn RMAA test tracks onto one to test my trusty Onkyo DX-6920. If both tracks are sample-aligned and you invert one, the difference should be a solid digital zero. What I would suggest doing is trying to capture the SPDIF data stream via a soundcard with optical in (OK - possibly easier said than done), perhaps on a disc that's not easy to read, and comparing the recording with the same track conventionally ripped and verified. If the optics are dirty, adjustments are out or the odd electrolytic capacitor has seen better days (the KSS-240A in this unit is quite notorious for a little SMD electrolytic going bad, as they almost universally do in this time frame), the player may be making copious use of interpolation without it being too obvious (as that's what interpolation was designed to do). Note that a nigh 30-year-old CD player may no longer work as new. Just want to know if there would be a significant improvement going for a brand new modern CD player (entry level). I don't know what I got but it sounds very, very good. Well, if someone can comment on the specifications shown on the above link I would appreciate. What is "PULSE DAC"? Is it a good thing to have a PULSE dac (whatever that means)?Īlso, in the link above specifications say: "Digital converter: CXD2561M " What is that? Good? Bad? Would I get a much better DAC if I buy an entry level modern (2020) CD Player? What does that mean? Is it a good DAC inside? Or is it a piece of junk of old crap DAC? This Sony CD player has a front label that says "PULSE D/A CONVERTER" Now I have read that modern DACs in CD players are superior than older ones, even in entry level cheap players. Besides, it plays perfectly any CD, new ones, old ones, scratched ones, home made ones (CD-R, etc), anything it plays without effort. It sounds very good to my ears, very clear, very neat, crystal clear sound. I got a Sony CD player from 1992, it is the CDP-C715:

what year did the onkyo cd player dx- 704 come out

Here I refer to entry level (cheap/inexpensive) CD players only. Particularly, I would like to know about how much better is a current DAC vs an old one. Would appreciate any help here, as audio is not my strong point.Im curious as to know how much of a difference is there in entry level CD players from the 90s as compared to current ones.

#WHAT YEAR DID THE ONKYO CD PLAYER DX 704 COME OUT PC#

The reason I want to play the sound through my PC, is because I intended to RIP all my CD's to WAV, and use the PC as a juke box, insted of having to hunt around for long forgotten CD's Have I got this completely wrong, and am I not going to get a decent sound from this setup? I can't use digital out, as I don't have a digital input on my amp, which is about ten years old! I have browsed some threads on this forum and found the "sound card v DAC" debate. It is completely lacking in bass and depth, by comparison. I thought, as the sound is going through my Technics amp, the sound would be at least as good as a CD played on my CD player, but it is not. However, having connected the sound card 3.5 jack out, to the Aux phono in, on my Technics amp, and playing a CD on the PC, I find myself completely underwhelmed. A couple of pc's ago I had a Creative Soundblaster X-fi, which I was perfectly happy with, so I thought an up to date Asus Xonar would be fine. I specifically chose the sound card expecting to get half decent sound from it. I have recently purchased a Skylake Core i7 pc, running Windoes 10, and with an Asus Xonar DX soundcard.















What year did the onkyo cd player dx- 704 come out